RSS

Bangers and mash with awesome onion gravy

07 Nov

Oh I had the best onion gravy with my bangers and mash last night, it was awesome.  And even better, there wasn’t a gravy granule in sight!!!!!

I got the recipe from here, but tweaked it to make it more slimming world friendly and it worked out at 3 1/2 syns for 2 servings.  It was gloriously oniony and beefy but it was completely vegetarian, or so I was lead to believe on the website and it was worth the 2 syns that I gave it to be safe!

Ingredients:

  • 1 large onion (sliced into rings).
  • 1 clove of garlic (Finely chopped
  • 1 level tbsp of plain flour – 3 1/2 syns
  • 350ml of stock (boiling water poured over 1 veg stock cubes)
  • 1 level tsp of Marmite
  • 2 tsp of soy sauce
  • 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar
  • 1 pinch of decent mixed herbs (my addition)
  • Ground black pepper to taste

Method:

  • Heat the frylight in a pot over a low heat and add the onion slices.
  • After five minutes add the garlic.
  • Sautee until the onions are soft and transparent.
  • Add the flour and stir in well. Let the flour get a bit nutty.
  • Add the stock gradually, stirring constantly. Then add the Marmite, soy sauce, balsamic vinegar,  mixed herbs and black pepper.
  • Bring the mixture to the boil and simmer very gently for 10 – 15 minutes. Stir every 5 minutes until the gravy thickens and the flavours blend.

So I had it with M&S Extra Lean Pork Sausages and I have to say they are yummy.  I can be very fussy when it comes to sausages incase I get a grizzly bit but these were lovely and at only 1/2 a syn each totally worth it.  Better than any other extra lean sausages I have had before and not a grain of rice in sight, bleurch!

I also had mashed potato’s which I couldn’t finish and loads of petit pois to go with it.  Yummy yummy get in my tummy.

Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy Slimming World Stylie

And these are the sausages incase anyone is interested, think they were £1.99

The best sausages

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 7, 2009 in Recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
