RSS

Easy Slimming World Friendly Spring Rolls

30 Oct

Well I made these as I had leftover filo pastry from when I made my beef stew and pastry and I also had leftover stirfry veg as I had made chow mein the previous night so decided I would make spring rolls, and they were actually really tasty.  Now these are just rough guidelines, you could make them bigger or smaller depending on how much filo you wanted to use, I only made 6 as that was all the filling I had but you could make as many as you want and just syn them accordingly.  Also make sure you check what size your filo pastry is as my sheets were jumbo, you could probably have gotten away with making 6 rolls from one sheet and reduce the syns but it was my first attempt so wanted to err on the side of caution.  Would be great to have with the chicken chow mein recipe 😉

Makes – 6 Spring rolls

Syns – 2 syns each

Ingredients:

  • 2 sheets of filo pastry – each sheet cut into 4 squares and covered with a damp cloth 11 syns (my sheets were jumbo)
  • 1 egg – whisked
  • 1 carrot cut into matchsticks
  • 2 handfuls of beansprouts
  • 1 onion chopped finely
  • 1 handful of mangetout sliced in half
  • 2 mushrooms chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic – grated
  • Soy sauce
  • pepper

Method:

  • Fry the onions and garlic in frylight until starting to soften.
  • Add the rest of the veg and stirfry for a few minutes
  • Add about a tablespoon of soy sauce and mix
  • Taste and see if you need to add any more soy sauce (I didn’t measure properly, just judged by eye)
  • Stirfry for another minute and then season and set aside
  • Take one sheet of filo and brush the egg around each side
  • Take a spoonful of the filling and place at one end of the pastry then fold in the sides
  • Roll the end will the filling up and make sure you have enough egg at the end to seal the roll
  • Brush the top of the finished spring roll with egg and place on a baking sheet sprayed with fry light
  • Make the rest of the rolls in the same way and place into a pre-heated oven (about 200 c) for about 7 minutes, they won’t take long to cook

I served mine with Jack Daniels hot chilli sauce at 1/2 syn per tbsp

Diet vegetable spring rolls

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
