RSS

Homemade burgers

29 Oct

Well it would appear that I am back on track finally this week.  I had my homemade burgers on Tuesday night and they were yummy.  I don’t normally like burgers because of the texture but these were great.  I didn’t take a picture as they looked messy as hell but this is roughly what I did.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pack (400g) extra lean mince
  • 1 onion finely chopped
  • 1 tsp mixed herbs
  • Pepper
  • 1 tbsp of liquid beef stock
  • a dash or two of worcestershire sauce
  • a good grinding of dried garlic and chilli
  • 1 slice of 400g wholemeal bread – whizzed into breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg

Method:

  • Using a large knife chop up mince on a chopping board until all mushed (you don’t have to do this but I find if you do this the mince turns out really tender without having to be cooked for hours!)
  • Place into a bowl with all the other ingredients and mix with you hands until it all comes together and is mixed well
  • Shape into burger shapes, I made 6 pretty generous burgers from this, and if you wish place a laughing cow into the middle and shape the mince around it to seal it.  (Some people like this, I didn’t really but you could try it.  I had one with and one without)
  • Fry in a non stick frying pan with fry light until cooked – I removed them from the pan and placed into the oven for an extra 5 mins while I was waiting on the chips just to make sure they were really cooked

Serve with a wholemeal roll, onions, cheese and tomato.  I also used Britmum’s BBQ sauce which went really well, you can find the recipe here.  Plus her picture looked much better than mine 😉

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 29, 2009 in Recipes

 

One response to “Homemade burgers

Leave a Reply

 
