RSS

Weekend food

20 Oct

Well I had a very productive food weekend, made loads of lovely food.  Recipes will follow, most of them were from my new Extra Easy Cookbook 😀

Britmums cottage pie

Britmums shepherds pie

I have to say this recipe was extremely easy to follow and was very very tasty.  The only criticism would be that it was far too dry for my liking.  I will definately make this again but I will double the amount of liquid so I still have a gravy and will also not use egg for the mashed potato’s but will instead just use a little bit of milk to make it wetter.  Would definately recommend you make this though!  The recipe can be found here.

Britmums cottage pie

Britmums shepherds pie

Next up was some lovely and very comforting chicken noodle soup.  I ended up buying glass noodles for this by mistake so you can barely see them but it was definately tasty and would make again with the right noodles.  Will add the recipe when I get home later.

Chicken Noodle Soup

Chicken Noodle Soup

And for the finale was a gorgeous beef and ale stew with fresh corn, new potato’s and filo pastry.  It was lovely but the pastry was a bit floury for my liking and to be honest didn’t add that much to the dish.  Next time think I will make the stew and not bother to waste the syns on the pastry.  I will post the recipe for the stew later tonight 😀

Beef Stew with pastry

Beef Stew with pastry

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 20, 2009 in Musings

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
