RSS

Simplest Pasta Primavera Ever

06 Oct

I was in Sardinia on holiday in June before I started my new job and I came across this pasta dish in a restaurant.  When I looked at the description I have to say I wasn’t impressed but I didn’t fancy anything else either so decided to plump for this.  Well I have to say I was VERY surprised, it was bloody gorgeous.  It is so unbelievably simple and has so few ingredients you would think that it would be very tasteless but it is definately not.   I know we are coming into the kind of weather where we just want hearty food but if you fancy something light I would definately recommend you try this!

As this was just a dish I had in a restaurant I looked for a similar recipe but I couldn’t find one so I am afraid most of the amounts are guesstimates apart from the items with syn values possible syn values

Serves – 2

Syn value – Free on (EE and Green) * add 6 syns per portion if not using Olive oil as HEB

Ingredients:

  • 2 large portions of Spaghetti
  • Fresh vine tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • Small handful of fresh basil leaves

Method:

  • Crush your garlic and add it to your olive oil in a small bowl or ramekin
  • Chop your tomatoes into quarters if they are small or smallish chunks if they are larger (I find the smaller tomatoes are the best for this dish just make sure they are as fresh as you can get).  Place them into a bowl and season well with salt and pepper.
  • Tear up the basil and add this to your tomatoes and set aside
  • Cook the spaghetti as per packet instructions.
  • Once the spaghetti is cooked, drain (but not completely, you want a little bit of the cooking water) and return to the pan.
  • Add the garlic olive oil and mix well.  Add the tomatoes and basil and stir gently.

If you wish you could add some fresh parmesan cheese to this before serving but it isn’t needed.  Just remember to add the syns for the cheese if you add it.

Enjoy.

Pasta Primavera

Pasta Primavera

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 6, 2009 in Recipes

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment